Calendar

Calendar

History

History of the Museum

Moving the timeless

Established in 1868 on Dorchester Boulevard (now René-Lévesque), at the corner of Sainte- Monique Street, St. Paul’s Presbyterian Church was considered one of the most beautiful neo-Gothic churches in the City of Montreal. It served as the crowning achievement of its architect’s (Frederick Lawford) career.

However, in 1929, the church was expropriated by the Canadian National Railway to make way for a new railway station. It was saved from destruction thanks to the Pères de Sainte-Croix, who purchased it in 1930 for the symbolic price of $1.

It was thus dismantled stone by stone in about 60 days. The stones were numbered and then systematically transported to the grounds of Collège de Saint-Laurent, where it became the new chapel of the Frères de Sainte-Croix. It was rebuilt on a concrete frame by architect Lucien Parent, who slightly modified it for its new vocation as a Catholic chapel.

Among the additions were an organ loft, confessionals, the Stations of the Cross, and new stained-glass windows. It was also raised by one storey to accommodate the Émile-Legault performance hall, where the famous Compagnons de Saint-Laurent performed.

The chapel was rendered vacant following the secularization of the educational institutions in 1967, and was then transformed into a museum under the aegis of Prof. Gérard Lavallée in 1975. In 1979, the Musée d’art de Saint-Laurent opened its doors. Its permanent exhibition remained until 2002, when renovations were carried out to better meet the needs of the public. In 2003, the museum changed its name to Musée des maîtres et artisans du Québec and, in 2004, presented its new permanent exhibition, Mains de maîtres.

In 2021, after several months of renovation work, the museum reopened under a new name: the MUMAQ-Musée des métiers d’art du Québec. Today, its permanent exhibition, Meaningful Objects, presents Québec’s crafts from a new chronological perspective.

The stained glass windows

The original stained glass windows adorning the chancel and building façade did not follow when the church moved in 1930: instead, they were reused by the Presbyterian community for their new Church of St. Andrew and St. Paul on Sherbrooke Street in Montreal, where they are still visible today. The new stained-glass windows made in the 1930s were therefore adapted to the existing stone frames.

Secrets from the archives. . .

In 1932, Father Cousineau from the Sainte-Croix congregation received a letter from the German glassmaker, Karl Diemand. The letter included a list of possible subjects for the stained-glass windows in the transepts of the church. In 1933, he received a second one, this time from Francis Chigot, this time for the right transept. However, these projects clearly never materialized, because the transepts still do not have stained glass windows.

Stained glass window on the west façade

Stained glass window on the west façade

The western stained-glass window is made up of two parts. The central piece, Vierge à l’Enfant, made and given by the Carmel du Mans workshop in France in 1874, comes from the old College church. It may be one of only two contributions of the Carmelite stained-glass workshop to North American architectural heritage.

Francis Chigot (1879–1960), master glassmaker from Limoges, France, was asked, in 1932, to replace the other parts of the stained-glass window. Well-known for his Art Nouveau and Art Deco-inspired works, he was also responsible for the historic stained-glass windows of the Notre-Dame Basilica in Montreal.

Stained glass in the chancel

Inserted in the frame of the old Presbyterian stained glass window, the chancel’s stained glass was financed by a former student of the College, the Reverend Georges Chartier, and produced by Guillaume Ernest Raymond Pellus in 1931. Pellus, a French painter-decorator and master glassmaker, was active in Montreal from 1917 to 1933 and produced many religious stained glass windows.

The central scene depicts the appearance of Jesus to Saint Mary Alacoque, according to the Sacred Heart devotion legend. This French nun, who experienced a divine revelation in 1675, was called to spread the worship of the Sacred Heart of Jesus. She was canonized in 1920. Secondary stained-glass windows depict different scenes from the New Testament. Fleurs-du-lys, symbols of the French-Canadian Catholic faith, surround the main scene.

The organ

To accommodate the organ and choir space recovered from the former Presbyterian church, the second-floor organ loft was added by Lucien Parent during the reconstruction of the building in 1930. The organ had previously been located in the center of the church, in the chancel. It is a Warren organ from 1868, modified and enhanced by the addition of the Mitchell organ from St. Andrew’s Church in 1919.

To prepare for its installation in the chapel of the College, Casavant Frères from Saint-Hyacinthe dismantled the organ in 1930 and completely rebuilt it. The instrument was restored and enhanced to a total of 5,459 pipes and 81 pipe organ stops*. By comparison, the organ in St. Joseph’s Oratory, which ranks among the 10 most prestigious organs in the world, has 5,811 pipes and 78 organ stops!

Several famous organists have played this imposing instrument, whose pipes reach into the four corners of the building. Silent since the early 1970s, it was once considered one of the most versatile instruments in Canada.

The oak cases topped with floret arrows, a botanical ornament, were designed by Lucien Parent, the architect in charge of moving and rebuilding the chapel.

Finally, for safety reasons, a railing was added to the organ loft in 1998.

 

*An organ stop is a row of organ pipes used to create a particular sound, more appropriately known as a rank.

The MUMAQ: an impressive collection

The museum’s collection is composed of more than 10,000 objects stemming from various arts and craft traditions. In the fall of 2002, the museum underwent a makeover: the architectural firm Marc Julien modified the interior layout to improve visitors’ services and restore the beauty of this heritage building’s décor.

At the same time, a new permanent exhibition, called Mains de maître (The Master’s Hands), was inaugurated in March 2003. Then, in May 2017, the MUMAQ received a grant from the Québec Ministry of Culture and Communications to re-imagine a new permanent exhibition. The result is Meaningful Objects: A History of Québec’s Crafts, which we are proud to present to you today.

New name, new look, new logo

Le Musée des maîtres et artisans du Québec (MMAQ) becomes le Musée des métiers d’art du Québec (le MUMAQ).

Logo - MUMAQ

Museum calendar

Calendar

December 2021

Calendar

January 2022

Calendar

February 2022

Calendar

March 2022

Calendar

April 2022

Calendar

May 2022

Calendar

June 2022

Calendar

July 2022

Calendar

August 2022

Calendar

September 2022

Calendar

October 2022

Calendar

November 2022

Calendar

December 2022

Calendar

January 2023

Calendar

February 2023

Calendar

March 2023

Calendar

April 2023

Calendar

May 2023

Calendar

June 2023

Calendar

July 2023

Calendar

August 2023

Calendar

September 2023

Calendar

October 2023

Calendar

November 2023

Calendar

December 2023

  • All
  • Activities
  • Exhibitions

Close

Close calendar

Calendrier

Calendrier

Histoire

Histoire
du musée

Déplacer l'intemporel

Inaugurée en 1868 sur le boulevard Dorchester (aujourd’hui René-Lévesque) à l’angle de la rue Sainte-Monique, l’église presbytérienne St. Paul est considérée comme la plus belle église néogothique de la ville de Montréal. Elle couronne la carrière de son architecte Frederick Lawford.

En 1929, l’église est expropriée par le Canadian National Railway pour laisser la place à une gare ferroviaire. Elle est sauvée de la destruction grâce aux Pères de Sainte-Croix qui l’achètent en 1930 au prix symbolique : de 1 $.

En soixante jours, elle est démontée pierre par pierre, identifiée, puis déménagée sur les terrains du Collège de Saint-Laurent pour devenir la nouvelle chapelle des Frères de Sainte-Croix. Reconstruite sur une ossature de béton par l’architecte Lucien Parent, ce dernier la modifie légèrement pour sa nouvelle vocation, celle d’une chapelle catholique.

Parmi les ajouts : une tribune d’orgue, des confessionnaux, un chemin de croix et de nouveaux vitraux. Elle est aussi surélevée d’un étage pour accueillir la Salle Émile-Legault, salle de spectacle des renommés Compagnons de Saint-Laurent.

Devenue vacante suite à la laïcisation de l’institution d’enseignement en 1967, la chapelle est transformée en musée sous l’égide du professeur Gérard Lavallée en 1975. En 1979, le Musée d’art de Saint-Laurent ouvre ses portes. Son exposition permanente restera en place jusqu’en 2002, date à laquelle des travaux de réaménagement sont effectués pour mieux répondre aux besoins du public. En 2003, le musée prend le nom de Musée des maîtres et artisans du Québec et présente dès 2004 sa nouvelle exposition permanente, Mains de maîtres.

En 2021, suite à plusieurs mois de travaux, le musée réouvre ses portes sous un nouveau nom : le MUMAQ-Musée des métiers d’art du Québec. Sa nouvelle exposition permanente, Objets témoins, présente les métiers d’art du Québec dans une nouvelle perspective chronologique.

Les vitraux

Les vitraux originaux ornant le chœur et la façade du bâtiment n’ont pas suivi lors du déménagement de l’église en 1930: ils ont été réutilisés par la communauté presbytérienne pour leur nouvelle église St. Andrew & St. Paul de la rue Sherbrooke à Montréal, où ils sont encore visibles aujourd’hui. Les nouveaux vitraux réalisés dans les années 30 seront donc adaptés aux cadres de pierre existants.

Secrets d’archives sur les vitraux des transepts

En 1932, le Père Cousineau de la congrégation de Sainte-Croix reçoit une lettre d’un verrier allemand, Karl Diemand. Celle-ci contient une liste de sujets pour les vitraux des transepts. En 1933, il en reçoit une seconde, de Francis Chigot cette fois, pour le transept droit. Cependant, ces projets n’ont visiblement jamais été réalisés, car les transepts n’ont toujours pas de vitraux.

Le vitrail ouest

Vitrail de la façade ouest 

Le vitrail ouest est composé de deux parties. La pièce centrale, une Vierge à l’Enfant provient de l’ancienne église du collège et a été réalisée et offerte par l’atelier du Carmel du Mans en France en 1874. Il semblerait que ce soit l’une des deux seules contributions de cet atelier de vitrail des Carmélites au patrimoine architectural nord-américain.

Pour remplacer les autres pièces du vitrail, on fait appel en 1932 à Francis Chigot (1879-1960), maître verrier de Limoges, en France. Bien connu pour ses œuvres d’inspiration Art nouveau et Art déco, il est également l’auteur des vitraux historiques de la Basilique Notre-Dame de Montréal.

Vitrail du chœur 

Inséré dans le cadre de l’ancien vitrail presbytérien, le vitrail du chœur est financé par un ancien élève du Collège, le révérend Georges Chartier, et réalisé par Guillaume Ernest Raymond Pellus en 1931. Pellus, peintre décorateur et maître-verrier français, est actif à Montréal de 1917 à 1933, et y réalise de nombreux vitraux religieux.

La scène centrale représente l’apparition de Jésus à Sainte Marie Alacoque, selon une légende à l’origine de la dévotion du Sacré-Cœur. Cette religieuse française qui eut une révélation divine en 1675 se donna pour vocation de répandre le culte du Sacré-Cœur de Jésus. Elle fut canonisée en 1920. Les vitraux secondaires représentent différentes scènes du Nouveau Testament. Des fleurs de lys, symboles de la foi catholique canadienne-française, entourent la scène principale.

L'orgue

Pour recevoir l’orgue rescapé de l’église presbytérienne ainsi que des chorales, la tribune d’orgue a été ajoutée par Lucien Parent lors de la reconstruction du bâtiment en 1930. Auparavant, l’orgue était placé au centre de l’église, dans le chœur. Il s’agit d’un orgue Warren de 1868, modifié et augmenté par l’ajout de l’orgue Mitchell de l’église St. Andrew en 1919.

En vue de son installation dans la chapelle du Collège, la maison Casavant et Frères de Saint-Hyacinthe a démonté l’orgue en 1930 et l’a entièrement reconstruit. L’instrument a été restauré et bonifié pour totaliser 5459 tuyaux et 81 jeux d’orgue*. À titre de comparaison, l’orgue de l’oratoire Saint-Joseph, qui se classe parmi les 10 plus prestigieux orgues au monde, compte 5 811 tuyaux et 78 jeux !

Plusieurs organistes célèbres ont joué de cet instrument imposant dont les tuyaux sont répartis aux quatre coins de l’édifice. Muet depuis le début des années 1970, il était autrefois considéré comme l’un des instruments les plus versatiles au Canada.

Les buffets de chêne surmontés de flèches à fleurons, un ornement végétal, ont été dessinés par Lucien Parent, l’architecte chargé du déménagement et de la reconstruction de la chapelle.

Enfin, pour des raisons de sécurité, une balustrade a été ajoutée à la tribune d’orgue en 1998.

*Un jeu d’orgue est une série de tuyaux de même forme, donc de même timbre, et de longueur décroissante. On nomme un jeu par son timbre et par la taille du plus grand tuyau qui se mesure en pieds.

MUMAQ : une collection impressionnante

Plus de 10 000 objets reliés aux arts et aux traditions artisanales orientent la vocation du musée. À l’automne 2002, le musée fait peau neuve : la firme d’architectes Marc Julien modifie l’aménagement intérieur pour améliorer le service aux visiteurs et redonner au décor de l’édifice patrimonial toute sa beauté.

Parallèlement, une nouvelle exposition permanente, baptisée Mains de maître, est inaugurée en mars 2003. Puis, en mai 2017, le Musée reçoit une subvention du Ministère de la culture et des communications du Québec pour repenser sa nouvelle exposition permanente, Objets témoins, une histoire des métiers d’art du Québec, que nous sommes fiers de vous présenter aujourd’hui.

Nouveau nom, nouveau logo, nouveau look

En 2020, le Musée des maîtres et artisans du Québec (MMAQ) devient le Musée des métiers d’art du Québec (le MUMAQ).

Logo - MUMAQ

Calendrier du musée

Calendrier

octobre 2020

Calendrier

novembre 2020

Calendrier

décembre 2020

Calendrier

janvier 2021

Calendrier

février 2021

Calendrier

mars 2021

Calendrier

avril 2021

Calendrier

mai 2021

Calendrier

juin 2021

Calendrier

juillet 2021

Calendrier

août 2021

Calendrier

septembre 2021

Calendrier

octobre 2021

Calendrier

novembre 2021

Calendrier

décembre 2021

Calendrier

janvier 2022

Calendrier

février 2022

Calendrier

mars 2022

Calendrier

avril 2022

Calendrier

mai 2022

Calendrier

juin 2022

Calendrier

juillet 2022

Calendrier

août 2022

Calendrier

septembre 2022

Calendrier

octobre 2022

  • Tout
  • Activités
  • Expositions

Fermer

Fermer le calendrier